Long version

The family saga relates that I was born in the sign of Scorpio while the Moon was high in the sky. That was the beginning of my special relationship to the Moon Goddess SELENE, who has since accompanied me all my life. As a child I used to watch the elves dancing at night in the moonlight over a lake, as an adult I received my first magical initiation under the aegis of the Moon’s full power, and in the year 2000, during a critical illness, she sent me a vision of death, self-dissolution and rebirth in the form of a butterfly that flew into the world on glowing, brightly coloured wings – exactly above a poppy field! And in 2009-2011, when I was struggling through a treatment for a brain tumour, the Moon’s light in the sky was for me both a vision and a home.

WORDS OF THE STAR GODDESS:
Whenever you have need of anything, once a month, and better it when the moon is full, you shall assemble…

The glowing red of the corn poppy flowers, which is also the colour of the chemical element selenium, symbolizes for me the colour of a full, authentic life. In addition it is the colour of the root chakra, which determines how we express our essential being in the world. Perhaps it is because of my strong attachment to groundedness that for me the quality of being stable and grounded is so important in spirituality, even more important than the soaring flight of ecstasy. But the flight comes a good second!

My professional life began with a training programme in physiotherapy. After I had gained my diploma as a state-registered physiotherapist, and later given birth to two delightful daughters, there followed various further qualifications and certificates in the area of psychology and physiotherapy.

In addition I studied comparative religion, psychology and pedagogy, always with the emphasis on women’s studies. I was interested in anything that furthered my development as a spiritually conscious woman. Mostly I worked in such areas as matriarchy, ritual, mystery cults and witchcraft, and in 1985 I completed a diploma thesis with the rather grand title Die Frau und das Heilige (Woman and the Sacred). A year later, in a somewhat more modest and concrete mode, as part of the work for my doctorate, I investigated why women and their spirituality are regarded as “marginal phenomena” in our society. In 1991 my doctoral dissertation was published in book form as Ethik und Geschlecht (Ethics and Gender). Armed with the title PhD, I embarked on a career as a university lecturer, and in my capacity as Frauenbeauftragte (Representative for Women’s Affairs) I tried to make the university a more fruitful place for women. From 1988 to 2008 I taught at the University of Bremen and other universities, giving courses on ritual, Neo-Paganism and women’s studies. At the same time I followed my path as an independent ritualist.

 I who am the beauty of the green earth and the white moon among the stars and the mysteries of the waters…

My spiritual path brought me into contact with many different practitioners of alternative forms of religion in Europe and the USA, and in 1987 it led me to Starhawk, who became my favourite teacher. She gave me a solid training in the finer points of the art of ritual and taught me that even – or perhaps especially – at times of profound religious feeling, things go better with a touch of humour.

As it turned out, all my various studies and qualifications gave me valuable tools to accompany me in my striving for a better and better understanding of spiritual processes and different forms of ritual. I am very grateful that numerous ritual groups and religious communities have allowed me to celebrate with them. In this way I have been able to experience a wide range of practices from different traditions: Judaism, Christianity, Buddhism, Shamanism, Sufism, Asatru, Tantra, Druidry and the various branches of the Goddess movement. It was remarkable how, during these years of apprenticeship and wandering, I was drawn again and again to the neo-Witchcraft movement and the Reclaiming Community, not least because of their ecstatic component and their musicality, which became my spiritual home for a long time.

 My law is: Love unto all beings

Since 1985 we have celebrated the eight annual festivals and other rituals in Bremen. In 1996 we founded the North German Reclaiming Witch Camp, also known as the Feencamp (Fairy Camp). These regular camps took the form of a week of intensive ritual workshops with American and German teachers, which attracted women from all over Germany. The Feencamp continued until 2006.

In 2001 I founded the SELENE Institute, which consolidates all my work over two decades and provides a range of rituals, workshops and lectures. The workshops especially provide an environment in which participants can acquire and deepen spiritual competence. Unfortunately our culture provides almost no training in religio-spiritual competence, and hardly anyone learns how to deal with the spiritual dimension or to work with techniques for accessing the realm of “sacred things”. Consequently most people are dependent on officially sanctioned or self-appointed priests, experts, counsellors, spiritual leaders and gurus. As these specialists are usually males of a patriarchal mind-set, that makes things even more questionable for women.

 All acts of love and pleasure are my ritual

This is where the SELENE Institute comes in. It offers a way for those who wish to take their spiritual lives into their own hands. This means first of all being aware of what the spiritual dimension means in one’s own life and then learning the techniques for working with this dimension. In the rituals we develop the theoretical and especially the practical competence for creating rituals independently and on one’s own initiative. This can take place either in the protected sphere of an all-women’s group or in a mixed circle of women and men.

I am fortunate to share an actively lived spiritual life with my husband Christopher, which finds its expression in many features of our house and garden: small altars with seasonally changing symbols, a sundial with reliefs representing the four elements, a Green Man and various fairies and nature spirits. These are as much part of our lives as are the rituals, both large and small, that we regularly perform.

It is impossible for me to imagine a religious ceremony without song and rhythm. Consequently in my ritual work I place particular emphasis on music, i.e. singing, intoning and chanting within sacred space. I have had the privilege of spending much time studying with various wonderful teachers of singing, and it is both a joy and a challenge to apply what I have learned from them to the particular context of ritual. Over time I have come to place special emphasis on working with states of trance, and the frame drum has become my favourite instrument.

 If that which you seek, you find not within yourself, you will never find it without.

In addition to all these activities, I enter enthusiastically into my other roles in life as:

tantrica, gardener, choral singer,

author, editor, translator,

family woman, mother and grandmother,

and – since my rebirth after a severe illness – Lebenskünstlerin (practitioner of the art of living)… 😉

My favourite line from the Song of the Star Goddess says:
All acts of love and pleasure are my rituals.
And this is exactly how I see my energy work and ritual work!

Langportrait

Die Familiensaga erzählt, dass 1951, als ich im Zeichen des Skorpions geboren wurde, das Mondlicht hoch am Himmel stand. Das war der Beginn meiner Beziehung zur Mondgöttin SELENE, die mich seitdem mein ganzes Leben lang begleitet hat. Als Kind sah ich nachts im Mondlicht die Elfen über dem See tanzen, als Erwachsene erhielt ich meine erste magische Initiation im Zeichen der Vollmondkraft, und im Jahr 2000 schickte sie mir in einer Krankheitskrise eine Vision von Tod, Selbstauflösung und Wiedergeburt in Gestalt eines Schmetterlings, der mit leuchtend bunten Flügeln in die Welt fliegt – genau über einem Klatschmohnfeld! Auch in einer von 2009-2011 durchlittenen Hirntumorerkrankung war mir das Himmelslicht zugleich Vision und tröstliches Zuhause.

WORTE DER STERNENGÖTTIN:
Wann immer ihr etwas braucht,
sollt ihr euch einmal im Monat,
am besten, wenn der Mond voll ist,
versammeln…

Das leuchtende Rot der Klatschmohnblüten, das übrigens auch die Farbe des chemischen Elements Selen ist, symbolisiert für mich die Farbe des vollen, authentischen Lebens. Zugleich ist es die Farbe des Wurzelchakras, das unser So-Sein in der Welt zum Ausdruck bringt. Vielleicht ist diese starke Bindung an Verwurzelung der Grund dafür, dass für mich in der Spiritualität eine stabile Erdung das Allerwichtigste ist, wichtiger noch als das freie Fliegen in der Ekstase. Aber das Fliegen kommt gleich als zweites!


Mein beruflicher Lebensweg begann mit einer körpertherapeutischen Ausbildung, und nachdem ich mein Diplom als staatlich anerkannte Krankengymnastin in Händen hielt und zwei bezaubernde Töchter geboren hatte, folgten jede Menge Zusatzausbildungen und Zertifikate im psychologischen und körpertherapeutischen Bereich.

Außerdem studierte ich Religionswissenschaft, Psychologie und Pädagogik, alles mit Schwerpunkt Frauenforschung. Mich interessierte alles, was mich als spirituelle Frau weiterbrachte; meistens arbeitete ich über Matriarchate, Rituale, Mysterienkulte und Hexen und gab 1985 meiner Diplomarbeit den etwas großartigen Titel Die Frau und das Heilige. Ein paar Jahre später machte ich, etwas bescheidener und konkreter, im Rahmen meiner Doktorarbeit eine Untersuchung darüber, warum eigentlich genau Frauen und ihre Spiritualität in unserer Gesellschaft ‚Randgruppenphänomene‘ sind. Daraus wurde 1991 das Buch Ethik und Geschlecht, ich war Dr. phil. und versuchte fortan, die Uni als Wissenschaftlerin und Frauenbeauftragte zu einem produktiveren Ort für Frauen zu machen. Von 1988 bis 2008 unterrichtete ich an der Uni Bremen und an anderen Universitäten Ritualforschung, Neopaganismus und Frauenforschung. Zugleich setzte ich meinen Weg als freiberufliche Ritualleiterin fort.

Ich, die ich die Schönheit der grünen Erde bin
und die weiße Mondin unter den Sternen
und die Mysterien der Wasser…

Mein spiritueller Weg führte mich zu den unterschiedlichsten AnbieterInnen von alternativer Religiosität in Europa und in den USA und ließ mich 1987 Starhawk finden, die zu meiner Lieblingslehrerin wurde. Ihr verdanke ich eine solide Schulung in den Feinheiten der Ritualkunst sowie die Überzeugung, dass auch und gerade in den Tiefen religiöser Hingabe alles besser geht mit Humor!

Wie es sich fügte, gaben mir alle Ausbildungen wertvolle Werkzeuge mit auf meinen Weg, spirituelle Prozesse und unterschiedliche Ritualformen immer besser zu verstehen. Ich bin voll Dankbarkeit dafür, dass mir viele Ritualgruppen und religiöse Gemeinschaften erlaubt haben, mit ihnen zu feiern. So konnte ich an den Praktiken teilhaben, die die unterschiedlichen Traditionen anwenden: jüdisch-christliche, buddhistische, schamanistische; Sufis, Asatru, Tantriker; Druiden und die verschiedensten Zweige der Göttinbewegung. Auf wundersame Weise landete ich während dieser ‚Lehr- und Wanderjahre‘ immer wieder bei den Neuen Hexen und der Reclaiming-Community, wohl nicht zuletzt wegen des ekstatischen Elements und der Musikalität, die mir für lange Zeit zur spirituellen Heimat wurden.

Mein Gesetz ist: Liebe zu allen Wesen

Seit 1985 feiern wir in Bremen rund ums Jahr die acht Jahreszeitenfeste und andere Rituale. 1996 gründeten wir das Norddeutsche Reclaiming-Witchcamp, auch Feencamp genannt, eine regelmäßig stattfindende Intensiv-Ritualwoche mit amerikanischen und deutschen Lehrerinnen, in der Frauen aus ganz Deutschland zusammenkamen. Das Feencamp bestand bis 2006.

2001 gründete ich das SELENE-Institut, das die Arbeit, die sich in meinem Leben über mehr als zwei Jahrzehnte aufgebaut hatte, in Ritualen, Workshops und Vorträgen bündelt.
Die Workshops sind vor allem ein Ort, um individuelle spirituelle Kompetenz zu erwerben und zu vertiefen. Da wir in einer Kultur leben, die in den Menschen so gut wie keine religiös-spirituelle Kompetenz ausbildet, hat auch kaum jemand wirklich gelernt, mit der spirituellen Dimension umzugehen, und kaum jemand ist mit den Wegen und Techniken vertraut gemacht worden, die den Zugang zu den ‚heiligen Dingen‘ eröffnen. Von daher sind die meisten Menschen abhängig von offiziellen oder selbsternannten Priestern, Experten, Seelenhirten, Geistesführern und Gurus. Dass diese Spezialisten in den allermeisten Fällen Männer von patriarchalem Zuschnitt sind, macht es gerade für Frauen noch schwieriger.

Alle Akte der Liebe und Freude
sind meine Rituale

Hier setzt das SELENE-Institut mit seinen Angeboten an, in denen es darum geht, unser spirituelles Leben in die eigene Hand zu nehmen. Dazu gehört, sich erst einmal darüber bewusst zu werden, was die spirituelle Dimension im eigenen Leben überhaupt bedeutet, und sodann die Mittel und Techniken zu erlernen, mit dieser Dimension zu arbeiten. In den Ritualen erarbeiten wir uns die theoretische und vor allem die praktische Kompetenz, Rituale in Unabhängigkeit und Eigenverantwortlichkeit zu gestalten. Dies kann sowohl in einem geschützten Raum nur unter Frauen stattfinden als auch in der Gemeinschaft von Frauen und Männern.

Als Ausdruck gelebter Spiritualität versuchen mein Mann Christopher und ich, spirituelle Aspekte in die Gestaltung unseres Hauses und Gartens einfließen zu lassen. Kleine Altäre mit jahreszeitlich wechselnder Symbolik, eine Sonnenuhr für die vier Elemente, der Grüne Mann und verschiedene Feen und Naturgeister gehören zu unserem Zuhause, genauso wie die kleinen und größeren Rituale des Alltags.

Eine lebendige religiöse Zeremonie ohne Gesang und Rhythmus kann ich mir überhaupt nicht vorstellen. Deshalb ist die Musik ein besonderer Schwerpunkt in meiner Ritualarbeit: das Singen, Tönen und Chanten im heiligen Raum. Ich hatte das Privileg, lange Zeit bei verschiedenen wunderbaren Gesangslehrerinnen und -lehrern studieren zu dürfen, und die Umsetzung des Gelernten in die Besonderheiten des Ritualsingens ist mir bis heute eine Herausforderung und tiefe Freude. Im Laufe der Zeit wurde mir die Arbeit mit Trance-Zuständen zu einem besonderen Schwerpunkt und die Rahmentrommel zu meinem bevorzugten Instrument.

Wenn ihr das, was ihr sucht,
nicht in eurem Inneren findet,
werdet ihr es im Außen niemals finden

Neben all diesen Dingen bin ich immer noch und immer wieder mit Begeisterung

– Tantrika, Gärtnerin, Chorsängerin,
– Autorin, Herausgeberin, Übersetzerin,
– Familienfrau, Mutter und Großmutter,
– und seit meiner ‚Wiedergeburt‘ nach schwerer Krankheit – Lebenskünstlerin 😉

Mein Lieblingsvers aus dem Lied der Sternengöttin besagt:
Alle Handlungen der Liebe und Freude sind meine Rituale.
Genauso empfinde ich meine Energie- und Ritualarbeit!